Georges Ohnet, 1848-1914


Biographical note

French novelist and man of letters.

Ohnet was an admirer of Georges Sand and bitterly opposed to the realistic modern novel. He began a series of novels, Les Batailles de la vie, of a simple and idealistic character, which, although attacked by the critics as unreal and commonplace, were very popular. The series included Serge Panine (1881) which was crowned by the Academy; Le Maître de forges (1882), La Grande Marnière (1885), Volonté (1888), Dernier Amour (1891). Many of his novels have been dramatized with great success, Le Maître de forges, produced at the Gymnase in 1883, holding the stage for a whole year. His later publications include Le Crépuscule (1902), Le Marchand de Poison (1903), La Conquérante (1905), La dixième muse (1906).

In 1902 he was elected president of the Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques.


Les Batailles de la vie:

Other novels

© 2016 The University of Adelaide
CRICOS Provider Number 00123M