The Ordeal of Richard Feverel, by George Meredith

Table of Contents

  1. The Inmates of Raynham Abbey
  2. Showing How the Fates Selected the Fourteenth Birthday to Try the Strength of the System
  3. The Magian Conflict
  4. Arson
  5. Adrian Plies His Hook
  6. Juvenile Stratagems
  7. Daphne’s Bower
  8. The Bitter Cup
  9. A Fine Distinction
  10. Richard Passes Through His Preliminary Ordeal, and is the Occasion of an Aphorism
  11. In which the Last Act of the Bakewell Comedy is Closed in a Letter
  12. The Blossoming Season
  13. The Magnetic Age
  14. An Attraction
  15. Ferdinand and Miranda
  16. Unmasking of Master Ripton Thompson
  17. Good Wine and Good Blood
  18. The System Encounters the Wild Oats Special Plea
  19. A Diversion Played on a Penny-Whistle
  20. Celebrates the Time-Honoured Treatment of a Dragon by the Hero
  21. Richard is Summoned to Town to Hear a Sermon
  22. Indicates the Approaches of Fever
  23. Crisis in the Apple-Disease
  24. Of the Spring Primrose and the Autumnal
  25. In which the Hero Takes a Step
  26. Records the Rapid Development of the Hero
  27. Contains an Intercession for the Heroine
  28. Relates How Preparations for Action Were Conducted Under the April of Lovers
  29. In which the Last Act of a Comedy Takes the Place of the First
  30. Celebrates the Breakfast
  31. The Philosopher Appears in Person
  32. Procession of the Cake
  33. Nursing the Devil
  34. Conquest of an Epicure
  35. Clare’s Marriage
  36. A Dinner-Party at Richmond
  37. Mrs. Berry on Matrimony
  38. An Enchantress
  39. The Little Bird and the Falcon; a Berry to the Rescue!
  40. Clare’s Diary
  41. Austin Returns
  42. Nature Speaks
  43. Again the Magian Conflict
  44. The Last Scene
  45. Lady Blandish to Austin Wentworth

Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:57