Chinese Literature


The Four Great Classical Novels (Si Da Ming Zhu 四大名著):

Other classic fiction:


  • The Story of the Western Wing (西廂記,西厢记 Xīxiāngjì), by Wang Shifu (王实甫)
  • The Injustice to Dou E (竇娥冤,窦娥冤 Dou E Yuan), by Guan Hanqing (關漢卿,关汉卿)
  • The Jade Hairpin (Yuzanji 玉簪記,玉簪记), by Gao Lian (高濂)
  • Hui Lan Ji (灰闌記,灰兰记), by Li Xingdao (李行道) became the basis for The Caucasian Chalk Circle
  • The Peony Pavilion (Mudan Ting 牡丹亭), by Tang Xianzu (湯顯祖,汤显祖)
  • The Peach Blossom Fan (Taohua Shan 桃花扇) by Kong Shangren (孔尚任)
  • The Palace of Eternal Life (長生殿, 长生殿), by Hong Sheng (洪昇)
  • The Orphan of Zhao (趙氏孤兒), a 13th century play by Ji Junxiang (紀君祥), was the first Chinese play to have been translated into a European language.

Works in English translation

© 2015 The University of Adelaide
Last Modified 22/05/2015
CRICOS Provider Number 00123M
Service Charter | Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer