The Life and Genius of Nathaniel Hawthorne, by Frank Stearns


Editions of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Books published under his own Direction

Fanshawe: A Tale, Boston, 1828.
Twice–Told Tales, Boston, 1837.
Another edition, Boston, 1842.
Peter Parley’s Universal History, Boston, 1837.
The Gentle Boy: A Thrice–Told Tale, Boston, 1839.
Grandfather’s Chair: A History for Youth, Boston, 1841.
Famous Old People: or Grandfather’s Chair II, Boston, 1841.
Liberty Tree: The Last Words of Grandfather’s Chair, Boston, 1841.
Biographical Stories for Children, Boston, 1842.
Historical Tales for Youth, Boston, 1842.
The Celestial Railroad, Boston, 1843.
Mosses from an Old Manse, New York, 1846, 1851.
The Scarlet Letter, Boston, 1850.
True Stories from History and Biography, Boston, 1851.
The House of the Seven Gables, Boston, 1852.
A Wonder–Book for Girls and Boys, Boston, 1851.
Another edition, Boston, 1857.
The Snow–Image and Other Tales, Boston, 1852.
Another edition, Boston, 1857.
The Blithedale Romance, Boston, 1852.
Life of Franklin Pierce, Boston, 1852.
Tanglewood Tales for Girls and Boys, Boston, 1853.
Transformation, or the Romance of Monte Beni, Smith & Elder, London, 1860.
The Marble Faun, or the Romance of Monte Beni, Boston, 1860.
Our Old Home, Boston, 1863.

A complete list of Hawthorne’s contributions to American magazines will be found in the appendix to Conway’s “Life of Hawthorne.”

Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:55