Dombey and Son, by Charles Dickens

Table of Contents

Preface of 1848

Preface of 1867


  1. Dombey and Son
  2. In which Timely Provision is made for an Emergency that will sometimes arise in the best-regulated Families
  3. In which Mr Dombey, as a Man and a Father, is seen at the Head of the Home–Department
  4. In which some more First Appearances are made on the Stage of these Adventures
  5. Paul’s Progress and Christening
  6. Paul’s Second Deprivation
  7. A Bird’s-eye Glimpse of Miss Tox’s Dwelling-place: also of the State of Miss Tox’s Affections
  8. Paul’s Further Progress, Growth and Character
  9. In which the Wooden Midshipman gets into Trouble
  10. Containing the Sequel of the Midshipman’s Disaster
  11. Paul’s Introduction to a New Scene
  12. Paul’s Education
  13. Shipping Intelligence and Office Business
  14. Paul grows more and more Old-fashioned, and goes Home for the Holidays
  15. Amazing Artfulness of Captain Cuttle, and a new Pursuit for Walter Gay
  16. What the Waves were always saying
  17. Captain Cuttle does a little Business for the Young People
  18. Father and Daughter
  19. Walter goes away
  20. Mr Dombey goes upon a Journey
  21. New Faces
  22. A Trifle of Management by Mr Carker the Manager
  23. Florence solitary, and the Midshipman mysterious
  24. The Study of a Loving Heart
  25. Strange News of Uncle Sol
  26. Shadows of the Past and Future
  27. Deeper Shadows
  28. Alterations
  29. The Opening of the Eyes of Mrs Chick
  30. The interval before the Marriage
  31. The Wedding
  32. The Wooden Midshipman goes to Pieces
  33. Contrasts
  34. Another Mother and Daughter
  35. The Happy Pair
  36. Housewarming
  37. More Warnings than One
  38. Miss Tox improves an Old Acquaintance
  39. Further Adventures of Captain Edward Cuttle, Mariner
  40. Domestic Relations
  41. New Voices in the Waves
  42. Confidential and Accidental
  43. The Watches of the Night
  44. A Separation
  45. The Trusty Agent
  46. Recognizant and Reflective
  47. The Thunderbolt
  48. The Flight of Florence
  49. The Midshipman makes a Discovery
  50. Mr Toots’s Complaint
  51. Mr Dombey and the World
  52. Secret Intelligence
  53. More Intelligence
  54. The Fugitives
  55. Rob the Grinder loses his Place
  56. Several People delighted, and the Game Chicken disgusted
  57. Another Wedding
  58. After a Lapse
  59. Retribution
  60. Chiefly Matrimonial
  61. Relenting
  62. Final

Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:53