Death Comes for the Archbishop, by Willa Cather

Table of Contents

Prologue: At Rome

Book One The Vicar Apostolic

  1. The Cruciform Tree
  2. Hidden Water
  3. The Bishop Chez Lui
  4. A Bell and a Miracle

Book Two Missionary Journeys

  1. The White Mules
  2. The Lonely Road to Mora

Book Three The Mass at ÁComa

  1. The Wooden Parrot
  2. Jacinto
  3. The Rock
  4. The Legend of Fray Baltazar

Book Four Snake Root

  1. The Night at Pecos
  2. Stone Lips

Book Five Padre MartÍNez

  1. The Old Order
  2. The Miser

Book Six Doña Isabella

  1. Don Antonio
  2. The Lady

Book Seven The Great Diocese

  1. The Month of Mary
  2. December Night
  3. Spring in the Navajo Country
  4. Eusabio

Book Eight Gold Under Pike’s Peak

  1. Cathedral
  2. A Letter from Leavenworth
  3. Auspice Maria!

Book Nine Death Comes for the Archbishop

“Auspice Maria!”


Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:52