Albert Camus, 1913-1960


Biographical note

Algerian-born French author, philosopher, and journalist who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1957. He is often associated with existentialism, but Camus refused this label.

Due to the absurd copyright laws in the world, the works of Camus will not enter the public domain (and thus be available here) until the year 2031. Be sure to come back then!



  • The Stranger (L'Étranger, often translated as The Outsider) [1942]
  • The Plague (La Peste) [1947]
  • The Fall (La Chute) [1956]
  • A Happy Death (La Mort heureuse) (written 1936-1938, published posthumously 1971)
  • The First Man (Le premier homme) (incomplete, published posthumously 1995)

Short stories

  • Exile and the Kingdom (L'exil et le royaume) (collection) [1957]
    • "The Adulterous Woman" ("La Femme adultère")
    • "The Renegade or a Confused Spirit" ("Le Renégat ou un esprit confus")
    • "The Silent Men" ("Les Muets")
    • "The Guest" ("L'Hôte")
    • "Jonas or the Artist at Work" ("Jonas ou l’artiste au travail")
    • "The Growing Stone" ("La Pierre qui pousse")


  • Betwixt and Between (L'envers et l'endroit, also translated as The Wrong Side and the Right Side) (Collection, 1937)
  • Nuptials (Noces) [1938]
  • The Myth of Sisyphus (Le Mythe de Sisyphe) [1942]
  • The Rebel (L'Homme révolté) [1951]
  • Notebooks 1935-1942 (Carnets, mai 1935 — fevrier 1942) [1962]
  • Notebooks 1943-1951 [1965]
  • Notebooks 1951-1959 [2008] Published as "Carnets Tome III: Mars 1951-December 1959" [1989]


  • Create Dangerously (Essay on Realism and Artistic Creation) [1957]
  • The Ancient Greek Tragedy (Parnassos lecture in Greece) [1956]
  • The Crisis of Man (Lecture at Columbia University) [1946]
  • Why Spain? (Essay for the theatrical play L' Etat de Siege) [1948]
  • Reflections on the Guillotine (Réflexions sur la guillotine) (Extended essay, 1957)
  • Neither Victims Nor Executioners (Combat) [1946]


  • Caligula (performed 1945, written 1938)
  • Requiem for a Nun (Requiem pour une nonne, adapted from William Faulkner's novel by the same name) [1956]
  • The Misunderstanding (Le Malentendu) [1944]
  • The State of Siege L' Etat de Siege [1948]
  • The Just Assassins (Les Justes) [1949]
  • The Possessed (Les Possédés, adapted from Dostoyevsky's novel by the same name) [1959]
© 2014 The University of Adelaide
CRICOS Provider Number 00123M