The Last Days of Pompeii, by Edward Bulwer-Lytton

Table of Contents

Book the First

  1. The Two Gentlemen of Pompeii.
  2. The Blind Flower-Girl, and the Beauty of Fashion. The Athenian’s Confession. The Reader’s Introduction to Arbaces of Egypt.
  3. Parentage of Glaucus. Description of the Houses of Pompeii. Classic Revel.
  4. The Temple of Isis. Its Priest. The Character of Arbaces Develops Itself.
  5. More of the Flower-Girl. The Progress of Love.
  6. The Fowler Snares Again the Bird that had Just Escaped, and Sets His Nets for a New Victim.
  7. The Gay Life of the Pompeian Lounger. A Miniature Likeness of the Roman Baths.
  8. Arbaces Cogs His Dice with Pleasure and Wins the Game.

Book the Second

  1. A Flash House in Pompeii, and the Gentlemen of the Classic Ring.
  2. Two Worthies.
  3. Glaucus Makes a Purchase that Afterwards Costs Him Dear.
  4. The Rival of Glaucus Presses Onward in the Race.
  5. The Poor Tortoise. New Changes for Nydia.
  6. The Happy Beauty and the Blind Slave.
  7. Ione Entrapped. The Mouse Tries to Gnaw the Net.
  8. The Solitude and Soliloquy of the Egyptian. His Character Analysed.
  9. What Becomes of Ione in the House of Arbaces. The First Signal of the Wrath of the Dread Foe.

Book the Third

  1. The Forum of the Pompeians. The First Rude Machinery by which the New Era of the World was Wrought.
  2. The Noonday Excursion on the Campanian Seas.
  3. The Congregation.
  4. The Stream of Love Runs On. Whither?
  5. Nydia Encounters Julia. Interview of the Heathen Sister and Converted Brother. An Athenian’s Notion of Christianity.
  6. The Porter. The Girl. And the Gladiator.
  7. The Dressing-Room of a Pompeian Beauty. Important Conversation Between Julia and Nydia.
  8. Julia Seeks Arbaces. The Result of that Interview.
  9. Storm in the South. The Witch’s Cavern.
  10. The Lord of the Burning Belt and His Minion. Fate Writes Her Prophecy In Red Letters, but who Shall Read Them?
  11. Progress of Events. The Plot Thickens. The Web is Woven, but the Net Changes Hands.

Book the Fourth

  1. Reflections on the Zeal of the Early Christians. Two Men Come to a Perilous Resolve. Walls have Ears, Particularly Sacred Walls.
  2. A Classic Host, Cook, and Kitchen. Apaecides Seeks Ione. Their Conversation.
  3. A Fashionable Party and a Dinner a La Mode in Pompeii.
  4. The Story Halts for a Moment at an Episode.
  5. The Philtre. Its Effect.
  6. A Reunion of Different Actors. Streams that Flowed Apparently Apart Rush into One Gulf.
  7. In which the Reader Learns the Condition of Glaucus. Friendship Tested. Enmity Softened. Love the Same, Because the One Loving is Blind.
  8. A Classic Funeral.
  9. In which an Adventure Happens to Ione.
  10. What Becomes of Nydia in the House of Arbaces. The Egyptian Feels Compassion for Glaucus. Compassion is Often a Very Useless Visitor to the Guilty.
  11. Nydia Affects the Sorceress.
  12. A Wasp Ventures into the Spider’s Web.
  13. The Slave Consults the Oracle. They who Blind Themselves the Blind May Fool. Two New Prisoners Made in One Night.
  14. Nydia Accosts Calenus.
  15. Arbaces and Ione. Nydia Gains the Garden. Will she Escape and Save the Athenian?
  16. The Sorrow of Boon Companions for Our Afflictions. The Dungeon and its Victims.
  17. A Change for Glaucus.

Book the Fifth

  1. The Dream of Arbaces. A Visitor and a Warning to the Egyptian.
  2. The Amphitheatre.
  3. Sallust and Nydia’s Letter.
  4. The Amphitheatre Once More.
  5. The Cell of the Prisoner and the Den of the Dead. Grief Unconscious of Horror.
  6. Calenus and Burbo. Diomed and Clodius. The Girl of the Amphitheatre And Julia.
  7. The Progress of the Destruction.
  8. Arbaces Encounters Glaucus and Ione.
  9. The Despair of the Lovers. The Condition of the Multitude.
  10. The Next Morning. The Fate of Nydia.
  11. Wherein All Things Cease.

Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:51