Tales of Soldiers and Civilians, by Ambrose Bierce

Table of Contents

Preface to the First Edition


  1. A Horseman in the Sky
  2. An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge
  3. Chickamauga
  4. A Son of the Gods
  5. One of the Missing
  6. Killed at Resaca
  7. The Affair at Coulter’s Notch
  8. The Coup de Grâce
  9. Parker Adderson, Philosopher
  10. An Affair of Outposts
  11. The Story of a Conscience
  12. One Kind of Officer
  13. One Officer, One Man
  14. George Thurston
  15. The Mocking-Bird


  1. The Man Out of the Nose
  2. An Adventure at Brownville
  3. The Famous Gilson Bequest
  4. The Applicant
  5. A Watcher by the Dead
  6. The Man and the Snake
  7. A Holy Terror
  8. The Suitable Surroundings
  9. The Boarded Window
  10. A Lady from Redhorse
  11. The Eyes of the Panther


Last updated Sunday, March 27, 2016 at 11:51